Search

I am attempting to develop my first symphony extension, just simple input field type, and I need a few pointers.

Firstly, I am new to git/github and was wondering if developers here tend to develop locally until their extension is in some way working and then push to github for public consumption, or develop from/to a github repo from day one. I am coming from SVN so forgive me if I get any terminology or concepts wrong.

Secondly - are there any good tutorials or even guidelines for the minimum requirements that extension/field code must meet? I tried duping an existing field, removing and tweaking a few bits, but now I can’t get mine to “enable”. I have no idea what is missing or what is wrong!!

Many thanks in advance.

You should make your extension a git repository from day one, and commit changes at least daily (assuming there are changes).

And when it comes time to release, you should do something like:

git commit -m "Releasing 1.0.1."
git push
git tag 1.0.1
git push --tags

This means that people can switch to a particular version of your extension with one simple git command, and if you use github, it will let users download archived copies of your tagged releases.

I normally develop silently until an extension is in a working state. If you’re extension is great and needed by many users you will raise expectations if you publish it too early (my two cents).

If you start creating a field type you’ll need the following files and folders:

/yourextension
    /fields
        /field.yourfield.php
    /extension.driver.php
    /LICENCE
    /README.markdown

While extension.driver.php initialises your extension field.yourfield.php represents everything your field does. As the API and extension documentation is still in the works I would search for a field offering similar functionality as a starting point for your own development.