Search

I’m not really sure WHAT I’ve been looking for in a CMS, but here is where I have come from. I’d like some feedback from those of you experienced with this system. I love the look and feel of Symphony, I just want to make sure I’m not trying to fit a square peg in a round hole.

I dabble.

I’m a musician and Electrical Engineering student who comes back to programming from time to time, usually for non-critical silly little things. I’ve spent a small amount of time in C++, Ruby, and Java. I’ve seen enough PHP and SQL to know what it is, but I’ve never actually written a project in it.

From time to time, I have a desire to put up a website. I usually think it’s simple until I realize it doesn’t really ‘fit’ into any of the ready-made boxes that exist (Wordpress, Textpattern, etc). All I usually want is a simple blog / news site plus something else, but that something else usually isn’t as simple as a photo gallery, etc. It usually has two or more data structures (Sections in Symphony) that are related in some way, and I want to be able to manage (add / edit / delete), sort, search, and present the information. I always want the backend interface to be ‘simple’, and have a ‘locked down view’ where you can only manage content and not screw up the site, especially on the occasion that this project is for someone else.