Search

Does anyone use git for local development?

I figured since symphony uses git it would be relatively easy to sync with symphony and its extensions.

However, I’m rather new to git, so I have not yet figured it out completely.

How should I import the symphony code into my local project, and make sure every file (including the workspace and manifest for development) is also pushed into the repo on the webserver.

Any ideas?

I’d be interested to know too. I’m comfortable with Subversion, but Git has never really taken hold for me.

I’m no expert, someone else will be able to speak more authoritatively, just a couple quick thoughts: The main difference between svn and git is that git is distributed. So instead of editing a Working Copy and then running a commit command to send it to the repo, then update through a client at your destination; you’ll commit to your own branch fork, then push to and pull from some other repo. Usually (like in Symphony) this is an origin repo that is acting as the authority for the project. you pull origin to update your fork, and make a pull request for some change you’ve made to the core repo (if that’s what you want).

So working from a local env that has git installed (there is no git client or git server, they’re all basically peers), you would git clone example.com where example.com is the repo url.

Then as far as adding manifest and workspace, I’m pretty sure you just need to remove them from the .gitignore file, then add them to the repo using git add.

At that point you should be able to edit and commit away. Once you’re ready to publish to a produection env, you would just clone your repo on the production server, and either pull into it or push to it from your local dev.

I could be way wrong, but I don’t believe you ‘publish’ a git repo separate from branching forking it, so your production version of your site will be its own git repo as well.