Search

I hope it is appropriate to post this in the forum. I’m just learning XSLT so it would be very helpful if some XSLT gurus reviewed a little snippet I use.

The case is that I have nested category entries: each category has a parent field pointing to the Category section.

To create a tree of categories I needed a simple recursive XSLT template. First I tried using a named template with xsl:call-templateand xsl:with-param elements. Somehow this did not work out (re: ‘scoping’ of the node elements needed).

After some more unsuccessful fiddling I tried the following, which works.

Recursive template using apply-templates and a match attribute.

Now, it seems to do all it needs to do, it builds a tree from the top-categories down. However, I’m actually a bit surprised it works. For example: the original match attribute seems to be overridden with the current node when the template is recursively called (without a match attribute). Can anybody explain this to me?

Are the match attributes necessary in both the apply-templates as well as the template itself?

Obviously I would also welcome any improvements.

Thanks. Dave

When using templates, it will call either match or name. The first one calls the template to a certain node set by using match, then works through the XML tree. As you are at a position within the XML node tree when calling by name, it uses the current node level in that call…

Saying that, however, I think this template could give undesired results when there are more than one entry in the categories node. Is the categories node the one that is output by the nested categories extension? or one that you have made yourself with sections and ds’s etc?

Can we see the XML?

Just for reference, Allen wrote an article about Combining Different Template Methods.

So I use both match and name which seems to give the desired result.