Search

Hi All

I’m pretty new to Symphony. I love what I see but am finding the learning a little frustrating. I am trying to chain data sources and can’t find a working example anywhere. The tutorial documentation appears to be a bit patchy here so I’m wondering if anyone can help me by posting an example or pointing me to a tutorial.

What I want to do is to list artists and to include a list of their artworks within each artists’ listing like this:

• Artist X
    • Artist X artwork 1
    • Artist X artwork 2
    • Artist X artwork 3
    • Artist X artwork 4
  • Artist Y
    • Artist Y artwork 1
    • Artist Y artwork 2
    • Artist Y artwork 3
    • Artist Y artwork 4
  • Artist Z
    • Artist Z artwork 1
    • Artist Z artwork 2
    • Artist Z artwork 3
    • Artist Z artwork 4

I have a section and a data source for artists and the same for artworks.

At the moment in debug mode my XML lists the artists and then the artworks, but I don’t know if the data source params are wrong of if the problem is in the page template.

If I had an example I’m sure I could get this working. Any help much appreciated and thanks to the team for developing what looks like a really promising CMS/framework.

Stuart

How are you linking the two sections together, with a Select Box Link? I’ll assume so.

So your Artists data source you should set the Output Parameters to be “System ID”. If your data source is named Articles then this should create a parameter named $ds-articles in the parameter pool (which you see when you click Params in the ?debug view) which should have a comma-list of the IDs. These IDs should be the same as the ID attributes on the <entry> elements in the XML.

To get artwork by an Artist, you want to filter your Artwork data source by this list of artist IDs. So add a filter to the Artwork data source on the “Artist” field (I presume this is a Select Box Link) using the value:

{$ds-artists}