Search

I'm taking some first steps to making an extension, and have been looking at some others and think I understand some of the concepts. I'm a novice programmer and not familiar with OOP's ins and outs.

I've managed to add three text fields to the Symphony Preferences page. I think I've seen a couple of ways of using values that are set there, but don't understand them. What is the best/simplest way to grab these values in my extension.driver.php?

Thanks.

Take a look at the maintenance mode extension, it's probably the simplest example. The extension driver subscribes to the AddCustomPreferenceFieldsets delegate to add the checkbox — you've got that far. Name your fields like:

settings[your_extension_name][option_name]

That's all you need to do. When the System > Preferences page is saved these options will be saved to the manfiest/config.php file. The above would give you:

###### YOUR_EXTENSION_NAME ######
'your_extension_name' => array(
    'option_name' => 'the-option-value',
),
########

Some extensions also subscribe to the Save delegate of the preferences page to do additional processing of the values (e.g. JIT saves the whitelist URLs to a file on disk). But if you just want to save values, make sure your HTML form elements are namespaced under settings[...] and they'll be persisted to the config file.

To retrieve all keys for your extension:

Symphony::Configuration()->get('your_extension_name');

Or a single option:

Symphony::Configuration()->get('option_name', 'your_extension_name');

Great - thanks a lot Nick. The text fields are saving data to the config file and I can get to the values.

Is there somehwere I can read up on what can be done with appendChild(Widget::Input()) ? I need to have the saved values entered into the fields when the Preferences page is loaded, and I'd like to make one of the fields a password-type field.

Is there somehwere I can read up on what can be done with appendChild(Widget::Input())

Of course :-)