Search

I'm just learning the ropes and have a question about Symphony's publishing/content delivery.

I'm interested in applying the CMS to an existing non-blog site -- but I want to avoid increasing per-request server processing for current content or producing content which is dependent on Symphony's specific content delivery system (php, mod_rewrite, et al). In short, I'd like to adjust Symphony's publishing routines to build flat html files (via XML/XSLT) directly from the CMS upon an author-triggered publish event.

My searches haven't turned up much, but I suspect I've missed relevant pieces of documentation. Any advice or links to docs, extensions, etc., would be appreciated.

Thanks!

You could change the mod_rewrite rules but you're going to need PHP to transform the XML with XSLT using Symphony.

What exactly are you trying to do? It doesn't sound like you want to use a CMS.

I don't know what the browser support is like for converting XML with XSLT, but I think that would be your only option.

Thanks for the feedback. To be clear, I'm distinguishing here between content management (creating, editing, publishing content) and content delivery (serving content to site visitors on request, and performing whatever dynamic assembling of disparate content components required thereof). By now, most major CMS apps provide some degree of content delivery for user convenience, but it's nevertheless secondary to the primary function of a CMS. Just about every CMS I've worked with (with the notable exception of ColdFusion) allows the decoupling of CMS and content delivery, freeing the user to serve content in whatever preferred way (eg, as flat files -- or via PHP, Mason, CGI, ASP, etc).