Search

@jonasd regarding that hackers post here - It is slightly concerning that just about every posts strongly advises not to learn XSLT when I’m just learning myself!

Do you think the majority of the people who say this are developers in much more common and widely used languages (which I’m not), so should not be put off by the comments? Saying that, I’ve still not found a CMS that does things how Symphony does (I don’t want to be spoon fed, or have predefined content!) regardless of template language, and I’m getting along fine with XSLT currently!

Do you think the majority of the people who say this are developers in much more common and widely used languages

Tough to say, of course, without knowing each of them individually, but that’s the impression I get.

The thing is, though, that we’re really not talking apples to apples here. XSLT is not just one other templating language to consider alongside Smarty or Jinja or Twig or whatever. In many ways it’s a completely different paradigm for how a presentation layer can/should work. And I think what you get a lot of the time is people who take a cursory look at XSLT and say, “Well the syntax seems cumbersome compared to simple tags like {% title %}” or “XSLT transformations aren’t as performant as simply parsing mixed HTML templates for tags in PHP.” But most of the power of XSLT is actually unique to the way XSLT functions. So someone who’s used to another templating language is almost certain to overlook those things because there’s simply no point of reference.

This whole discussion seems a bit strange to me. If Facebook prefers JSON over XML, this may have lots of reasons, one of them being bandwidth. But another reason might be that they actually don’t want to be too “verbose”.